Virtual NOAHCon 2020 July 9-12, 2020 A Vision Beyond 2020

Friday, July 10th


Tentative Schedule

8:00am – 9:30am PT (11:00am – 12:30pm ET)
EveryoneLatest Albinism Research

9:30am – 10:30am PT (12:30pm – 1:30pm ET)
Break

10:30am – 11:30am PT (1:30pm -2:30pm ET)
Family – Taking The Angst Out of Literacy Media Decisions 10:00-11:30am PT
Adults –
Ask the Doctors: Adults with Albinism

11:30am – 12:30pm PT (2:30pm – 3:30pm ET)
Family – Ask the Doctors: Parents and Family
Teens – Shark Bites No-Bake Snacks! 11:45am – 12:45pm PT

12:30pm – 12:45pm PT (3:30pm – 3:45pm ET)
Break

1:00pm – 2:00pm PT (4:00pm – 5:00pm ET)
Adults – PWA Hobbies Breakout Sessions *NEW TIME* 1:00 – 2:00pm PT
Kids – BINGO (suggested grades 1-2) 1:00 – 1:30pm PT
-OR-
Kids – Trivia and Scavenger Hunt (suggested grades 3-4) 1:45 – 2:15pm PT

1:45pm – 2:30pm PT (4:45pm – 5:30pm ET)
Break

2:30pm – 3:30pm PT (5:30pm – 6:30pm ET)
Everyone – NOAH Town Hall Meeting
Kids – Star Wars Trivia (suggested grades 5-6) 2:30 – 3:15pm PT

3:30pm – 4:00pm PT (6:30pm – 7:00pm ET)
Break

4:00pm – 5:00pm PT (7:00pm – 8:00pm ET)
Family – Family Game Night!
-OR –
Teens – Gamer Get Together 4:00 – 4:30pm PT

6:00pm – 7:00pm PT (9:00pm – 10:00pm ET)
Adults (21+ only)PWA Cocktail Hour


Session Descriptions

Latest Albinism Research

Latest Albinism Research
This session brings together the luminaries in the field of albinism research. The doctors will discuss recent developments in albinism research, current projects, and what is in store for the future.
This session is moderated by Donna Appell, RN.

Ask the Doctors: Adult PWA

Ask the Doctors: Adults with Albinism
In this session geared to adults with albinism, a panel of top scientists in the field of albinism research will be available to answer your questions and satisfy your thirst for knowledge about albinism.
This session is moderated by Donna Appell, RN.

Taking the Angst Out of Literacy Media Decisions

Taking The Angst Out of Literacy Media Decisions – Spoiler Alert: It’s not Either/Or
Chrissy Cowan M.Ed. TVI & Kathi Garza M.Ed. TVI
Collaborating with your child’s instructional team regarding literacy media decisions can result in more questions than answers. This session focuses on the selection of appropriate literacy media by providing information on the laws related to literacy, the components for thorough and rigorous evaluations, and the intricacies of print, braille, and auditory media. Participants will be introduced to the concept of a “customized literacy access plan” with guidance on how to create this with your child and instructional team.


Ask the Doctors: Parents & Family

Ask the Doctors: Parents and Family
In this session geared to parents and grandparents of children with albinism, a panel of top scientists in the field of albinism research will be available to answer your questions and satisfy your thirst for knowledge about albinism.
This session is moderated by Donna Appell, RN.

Shark Bites: No-Bake Snacks

Shark Bites No-Bake Snacks!
Teens & families, we hope you’ll join us for our first ever recipe session! Join us from the comfort of your very own kitchen, and we’ll whip up something delicious together. Ingredient lists will be sent out ahead of time to those who register.
This session is recommended for teens, tweens, and their families!

Hobbies Breakout: Adult PWA

PWA Hobbies Breakout Sessions
Interested in connecting with other PWA’s who share the same interests? Share your passion and tips and tricks for doing the things you love!

BINGO

BINGO
Join us for a fun game of BINGO geared towards our 1st and 2nd graders. Print-outs for BINGO boards and pieces will be provided ahead of time!
This session is recommended for children with albinism and other NOAH kids in grades 1-2.

Trivia & Scavenger Hunt

Kids Trivia and Scavenger Hunt
Calling all kids! Join us for a fun virtual hangout with your NOAH friends, featuring trivia, a scavenger hunt, and lots of laughs and smiles.
This session is recommended for children with albinism and other NOAH kids in grades 3-4.

NOAH Town Hall Meeting

NOAH Town Hall Meeting
NOAH board and staff will do a short presentation on volunteer opportunities and the latest organizational news. An interactive session will follow, including a time for questions and discussions.

Star Wars Trivia

Star Wars Trivia
Defenders of the galaxy, you won’t want to miss this fun trivia session geared towards 5th and 6th graders. Join us as we reveal the Star Wars trivia champion among us!
This session is recommended for children with albinism and other NOAH kids in grades 5-6.

Family Game Night

Family Game Night!
Gather your family and join your NOAH friends for an evening of trivia, and other family friendly games!

Gamer Get Together!

Gamer Get Together
Join us for a virtual Teen Room to catch up with friends and talk about your favorite video games!
This session is recommended for tweens and teens with albinism and other NOAH middle and high schoolers.

PWA Cocktail Hour 21+

PWA Cocktail Hour
(Adults 21+ ONLY)
Learn about the art of mixing cocktails and prepare a special NOAH Conference inspired drink. Enjoy socializing with other PWA’s. Ingredient list: Gin, orange liquor (like Triple Sec or Cointreau), a lemon (or lemon juice), an egg (optional).

Thursday ~ Saturday ~ Sunday