Skip to content →

NOAH Workshops

NOAH Workshops

New! NOAH Workshops are custom designed sessions, facilitated by a licensed professional, which address social emotional and educational needs, providing a deeper connection to others while building the NOAH community.


Upcoming Workshops:

Adapting to the Diagnosis of Albinism as a Family
A workshop intended for parents, grandparents, & caregivers, facilitated by Sheila Adamo, LCSW, CADC

Monday, October 18, 2021
8:30-10:00pm ET // 7:30-9:00pm CT // 6:30-8:00pm MT // 5:30-7:00pm PT

During this workshop we will present the common stages of adapting to a diagnosis of albinism  as well as provide tools to support the family during this emotional time in which everyone is full of questions and concerns.   The presentation will be open to parents, grandparents, and caregivers, and  we will have time to break up into separate groups so you can talk with other people who can truly understand what you are going through.

Learn more about Sheila Adamo

Register Today!

*Registration closes October 16th


All the Feels
A workshop intended for children & families, facilitated by Jocelyn Leworthy, MSc, CCLS, RECE

Sunday, October 24, 2021
3:00pm ET // 2:00pm CT // 1:00pm MT // 12:00pm PT

NOAH families with children, join Certified Child Life Specialist, Jocelyn Leworthy for a workshop that will explore a range of emotions that all people experience and will encourage children to connect to emotions that they experience in relation to having Albinism. The session will begin with a story, include a fun science experiment, and conclude with a fun expressive arts activity.

Supplies needed:

  • Water
  • food colouring (red, blue, green, yellow)
  • 6 clear cups, stir stick/spoon, dropper (if possible)
  • Paper/markers
  • Print out (link coming soon!)

Learn more about Jocelyn Leworthy

Register Today!

*Registration closes October 22nd!


Dealing with Comments & Questions
A workshop intended for parents, grandparents, & caregivers, facilitated by Sheila Adamo, LCSW, CADC

Thursday, November 4, 2021
8:30pm ET // 7:30pm CT // 6:30pm MT // 5:30pm PT

In this workshop we will examine how to deal with comments and questions regarding albinism from others that will include humor, sarcasm, anger and honesty.  Parents and Grandparents will analyze their own patterns of responses to others and explore ways of responding that will both honor their own feelings and enable them to serve as role models. This workshop will have a presentation and time for small groups that will enable you to connect with others that are experiencing similar things.

Learn more about Sheila Adamo

Register Today!

*Registration closes November 2nd!


Stares, Smirks, & Shout-outs
A workshop intended for adults with albinism, facilitated by Kelsey Thompson, MS, CRC, LCPC

Tuesday, November 16, 2021
8:00pm ET // 7:00pm CT // 6:00pm MT // 5:00pm PT

This session, which is intended exclusively for adults with albinism, will address how to deal with negative experiences in public and how to maintain self-esteem and dignity in difficult situations – from the blatantly rude person who yells “Hey, albino!” to the hilariously annoying inquisitor who asks, “Where did you get such white hair?” We will explore the emotions, behaviors and thought processes that these experiences bring about in us and discuss tips to minimize their impact. Attendees will receive suggestions they can use in their daily lives to cope with the occasional challenges of living with albinism.

Learn more about Kelsey Thompson

Registration Link Coming Soon!

*Registration closes November 14th!


Kids’ Mindfulness
A workshop intended for children & families, facilitated by Jocelyn Leworthy, MSc, CCLS, RECE

Sunday, November 21, 2021
3:00pm ET // 2:00pm CT // 1:00pm MT // 12:00pm PT

NOAH families with children, join our Certified Child Life Specialist Jocelyn for an hour of fun and creativity while also learning about mindfulness strategies. In addition to the fun and relaxation we will have the opportunity to talk about experiences and feelings and determine helpful things that we can do to manage.

Activity: Calming Glitter Jar
Supplies needed: Jar, Glitter glue, hot water, funnel, fine glitter

Supplies needed:

  • Jar
  • Glitter glue
  • Hot water
  • Funnel
  • Fine glitter

Learn more about Jocelyn Leworthy

Register Today!

*Registration closes November 19th!


Grandparenting a Child with Albinism
A workshop intended for grandparents, facilitated by Sheila Adamo, LCSW, CADC

Thursday, December 2, 2021
8:30pm ET // 7:30pm PT // 6:30pm MT // 5:30pm PT

This workshop will provide information, guidance, and support for grandparents of children with albinism of all ages in the comfort of your own home. We will explore some typical emotions and fears many grandparents experience and discuss strategies to help the family adjust and thrive. The workshop will provide an opportunity to learn more about albinism and provide practical tips and suggestions for grandparenting a child with albinism.  

Learn more about Sheila Adamo

Registration Link Coming Soon!

*Registration closes November 30th!


Learn more about our workshop facilitators:

Sheila Adamo, LCSW, CADC is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with an additional certification in Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counseling. She is currently providing individual, couple and family therapy in private practice as well as is the co-owner of Building Parent Connections which provides education, guidance and support to parents of children with special needs.. Ms. Adamo served on the NOAH board of directors for eight years and as board chair for two years and currently manages NOAH’s New Parent Program, Parent Connections and Grandparent Connections. Ms. Adamo currently lives with her husband and their four children, one of which has albinism, in Naperville, Illinois.

Kelsey Thompson, M.S., CRC, LCPC is an adult with albinism who has been involved with NOAH since the age of four; she previously served for ten years on NOAH’s Board of Directors, holding positions that include Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary. Since 2011, Kelsey has worked as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs at the nation’s second largest VA medical center outside of Chicago. Prior to this, she worked for five years as a counselor at The Chicago Lighthouse for People Who Are Blind or Visually Impaired. Kelsey has a master’s degree in rehabilitation counseling from the Illinois Institute of Technology and a second master’s degree in Health Administration. She is a Certified Rehabilitation Counselor, a Certified Case Manager and a Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor in the State of Illinois. Kelsey is the mother of two awesome kids, wife to one awesome husband, a runner, a knitter and a Simpsons nerd.

Jocelyn Leworthy, MSc, CCLS, RECE is a young adult living with Albinism from Ontario Canada. She has been involved with NOAH since she was in her teen years and has more recently become involved with the Junior Youth Advisory Council while also hosting calls for child and youth with Albinism. Jocelyn is a Certified Child Life Specialist and Registered Early Childhood Educator with her Master of Science in Paediatric Psychosocial Care. She has expertise in supporting the psychosocial well-being of children, youth and families impacted by illness, trauma, and disability. Jocelyn utilizes an array of creative developmentally appropriate modalities and interventions in her practice (play, art, games, talk) to provide education, preparation for potentially stressful experiences, teach coping strategies, promote emotional expression etc, all done with the goal to help empower children to be prepared with the tools to manage any challenges that come their way. Jocelyn currently holds a number of roles in her work in the community. Jocelyn works full-time as a CCLS at Gilda’s Club supporting children/families impacted by Cancer, she facilitates support bereavement groups for children at Seasons Centre for Grieving Children, is a part-time professor in the Early Childhood Education program at Georgian College, and is an occasional kindergarten educator for her local school board. From a personal and professional stance Jocelyn is very passionate about advocating for the psychosocial well-being of all individuals with Albinism- especially for children and teens!


Previous Workshops:

Parents of Newly Diagnosed Children
A workshop intended for parents & caregivers, facilitated by Sheila Adamo, LCSW, CADC

Worry Creatures Workshop
A workshop for children and families facilitated by Jocelyn Leworthy, MSc, CCLS, RECE