Skip to content →

NOAH Connections

NOAH Connections, bringing the albinism community together.

Introducing NOAH Connections

Inspired by our early pandemic “Social Distancing with Friends” series, as well as the heart-warming connections created during #VirtualNOAHCon2020, NOAH is delighted to introduce NOAH Connections, an ongoing series of virtual opportunities to bring the community together. An essential part of NOAH’s mission is to “provide a place where people with albinism and their families in the U.S. and Canada can find acceptance, support, and fellowship.” With the participation and engagement of community members like you, NOAH Connections will provide this opportunity for virtual “face to face” connections. Unless otherwise stated, NOAH Connections will be hosted on the Zoom platform.

We hope you’ll join us for one of many upcoming opportunities to connect!


What’s Your Vision?

Do you have a vision for future support forums, interest group meetings, educational sessions or social activities that would benefit the albinism community?

Submit your session ideas using this form to suggest upcoming content and connections for all!


Upcoming Opportunities to Connect:


Friday, January 29th ~ Parenting without Pigment

Thursday, February 4th ~ Teens

Thursday, February 4th ~ Young Adults

Sunday, February 7th ~ Kids Book Club (Recommended for Grades 5-8)

Saturday, February 13th ~ Dating with Albinism

Monday, February 15th ~ Coffee Chat

Saturday, February 20th ~ BIPOC

Sunday, February 21st ~ Ask the Doctors – Doctors with Albinism

Sunday, February 28th ~ Positively Unique: What Makes Us Rare:
Grades K-5 ~ Grades 6-8 ~ Teens

Are you a parent or grandparent looking to connect with others in the albinism community?
Check out Parent Connections and Grandparent Connections!

NOAH Connections by Group:

Preschool ~ Grades K-5 ~ Grades 6-8 ~ Teens ~ Young Adults ~ Adults
Special Events ~ Everyone!


Preschool NOAH Connections

Preschool NOAH Connections

Preschool NOAH Connections

Next Date TBD

Sign up for Preschool NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Preschool NOAH Connections!


Grades K-5 NOAH Connections

Positively Unique: Celebrating What Makes Us Rare Sunday, February 28th with Jocelyn Leworthy, Certified Child Life Specialist

Grades K-5 NOAH Connections
Positively Unique: Celebrating What Makes Us Rare

Sunday, February 28th at 2:00pm ET // 11:00am PT

Join your friends with albinism on Rare Disease Day to celebrate our uniqueness as individuals with a rare genetic condition. Each of us has developed certain skills and coping mechanisms, such as great memorization, that have become second nature to us as we navigate life with albinism. Jocelyn Leworthy a Certified Child Life Specialist and young adult living with Albinism will facilitate our discussion.

Sign up for Grades K-5 NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Grades K-5 NOAH Connections!


Grades 6-8 NOAH Connections

NOAH Kids' PWA Book Club
Recommended for Kids Grades 5-8

NOAH Kids’ PWA Book Club Kick-Off!
(recommended for grades 5-8)

Sunday, February 7th at 3:00pm ET // 12:00pm PT

Join award-winning author (and parent of a daughter with albinism) Beth Vrabel and Certified Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments Kathi Garza for our first meeting and official kick-off of the NOAH Kids’ PWA Book Club. At our initial meeting, Kathi will introduce the first book we’ll be reading, “A Blind Guide to Stinkville” by Beth Vrabel, and Beth will provide some background on the story and read us an excerpt. No need to read the book before joining – we will discuss “A Blind Guide to Stinkville” when we meet for our second session in March!

Save the Date – Session 2:
Sunday, March 7th at 3:00pm ET // 12:00pm PT

Sign up for NOAH Kids’ PWA Book Club!

Check out this video of Beth reading the first chapter for us at the NOAH Conference:


Positively Unique: Celebrating What Makes Us Rare Sunday, February 28th with Jocelyn Leworthy, Certified Child Life Specialist

Grades 6-8 NOAH Connections
Positively Unique: Celebrating What Makes Us Rare

Sunday, February 28th at 3:00pm ET // 12:00pm PT

Join your friends with albinism on Rare Disease Day to celebrate our uniqueness as individuals with a rare genetic condition. Each of us has developed certain skills and coping mechanisms, such as great memorization, that have become second nature to us as we navigate life with albinism. Jocelyn Leworthy a Certified Child Life Specialist and young adult living with Albinism will facilitate our discussion.

Sign up for Grades 6-8 NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Grades 6-8 NOAH Connections!


Teen NOAH Connections

Writing About Albinism
a complimentary workshop for NOAH tweens and teens
Sunday, January 17, 2021
4:00pm ET / 3:00 pm CT / 2:00pm MT / 1:00pm PT

Writing About Albinism
a complimentary workshop for NOAH tweens and teens

*DATE CHANGE* Sunday, January 24th
4:00pm ET // 3:00pm CT // 2:00pm MT // 1:00pm PT

We have all heard the maxim that you should write what you know. And for this community, writing about the personal experience of living with albinism is a story only you can tell. In this one-hour workshop for tweens and teens, NOAH members Hana Schank and her daughter Mira Shaklan will share what they both know about writing, and specifically writing about albinism. Hana is the author of four books and multiple publications on raising a child with albinism, and Mira is a 6th grader with albinism who attends a middle school for talented young writers. She writes regularly for Albinism Insight. In the workshop we will discuss different types of writing, including various types of fiction, personal essays, opinion essays, and journaling. Workshop participants will also have the opportunity to write and share their work.

Register Now!

Teen NOAH Connections

Teen NOAH Connections
Let’s Talk About College!

Thursday, February 4th at 8:00pm ET // 5:00pm PT

NOAH Teens, join us to connect with friends new and old, and discuss college. Lead by our call host, Aidan O’Connor, we’re sure to have a great time. See you on Zoom!

Sign up for Teen NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Teen NOAH Connections!


Teen NOAH Connections
Positively Unique: Celebrating What Makes Us Rare

Sunday, February 28th at 4:00pm ET // 1:00pm PT

Join your friends with albinism on Rare Disease Day to celebrate our uniqueness as individuals with a rare genetic condition. Each of us has developed certain skills and coping mechanisms, such as great memorization, that have become second nature to us as we navigate life with albinism. Jocelyn Leworthy a Certified Child Life Specialist and young adult living with Albinism will facilitate our discussion.

Sign up for Teen NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Teen NOAH Connections!


Young Adult NOAH Connections

Young Adult NOAH Connections

Young Adult NOAH Connections
Awkward Moments with Albinism

Thursday, February 4th at 9:15pm ET // 6:15pm PT

Young Adults, join us for our next session to share stories about awkward moments with albinism. Facilitated by Aidan O’Connor and surrounded by other PWAs, this will be the perfect chance to share a laugh with those who just get it (and probably have a similar story or two!).

Sign up for Young Adult NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Young Adult NOAH Connections!


Adult NOAH Connections

NOAH Connections Adults with Albinism Parenting without Pigment

Parenting without Pigment NOAH Connections
Tips and Tricks with Marleena Barber and Ali Adema

Friday, January 29th at 9:00pm ET // 6:00pm PT

Whether you’re a brand new parent or have kids who are in college, you won’t want to miss the next session of Parenting without Pigment! Led by Marleena and Ali, we’ll share our best parenting tips and tricks. See you on Zoom!

Sign up for Parenting without Pigment NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join Parenting without Pigment NOAH Connections!


Dating with Albinism
A panel discussion hosted by Rebecca & Nick Smith

Saturday, February 13th at 3:00pm ET // 2:00pm CT // 1:00pm MT // 12:00pm PT

Join hosts Rebecca & Nick Smith for this #SharetheNOAHLove NOAH Connections panel about dating with albinism on Saturday, February 13th at 3:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm PT.

Participation link will be sent to members of Adult NOAH Connections and Young Adult NOAH Connections.

Not a member of NOAH Connections? There’s still time to sign-up to participate!

Join Adult NOAH Connections

Join Young Adult NOAH Connections


NOAH Connections Black, Indigenous, People of Color

BIPOC NOAH Connections

Saturday, February 20th at 5:00pm ET // 2:00pm PT

The latest addition to our NOAH Connections offerings!
This gathering is intended for adults with albinism who identify as Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC). Our next session will tentatively focus on a discussion about the intricacies of living as BIPOC and living with albinism, and the nuances of identity in our communities.

This gathering, facilitated by Brandi Green and Natalie Devoramonifa, will take place on Zoom.

Sign up for BIPOC NOAH Connections today for info on how to join this session, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join BIPOC NOAH Connections!


NOAH Connections for Everyone

NOAH Connections Coffee Chat

NOAH Connections Coffee Chat!

Monday, February 15th at 5:00pm ET // 2:00pm PT

Coffee Chats are an open invitation to have coffee with NOAH staff on Zoom. Share your thoughts on NOAH programming, share your voice, or simply join us for some social time.

Sign up for NOAH Connections Coffee Chat today, and we’ll automatically subscribe you to email reminders for future opportunities to connect!

Join NOAH Connections Coffee Chat!


Ask the Doctors - Doctors with Albinism

NOAH Connections Ask the Doctors – Doctors with Albinism

Sunday, February 21st 5:00 pm ET

Have you ever wondered if you or your loved one with albinism would be able to become a medical doctor despite visual limitations? Well, it can be done–and we’d love to tell you all about it! Our panel will consist of Drs. Bob Gabbay and Megan Duffey and medical student Silpa Tadavarthy, all persons with albinism who have navigated or are navigating the beast that is medical education. We will tell you a little bit about how we did and are doing it and will answer questions from attendees.

Please note: We will not provide medical advice during this session.

Sign up for Ask the Doctors today!


Special Events

There aren’t any Special Events currently scheduled. Check back soon for updates!